Skip to main content

Applications for the MERP Energy Resilience Assessments have closed. Please see our assessment page for more information.

For information on the MERP Mini Grant (CLOSING MAY 31, 2024), please see our Mini Grant page.

More Information

Background and Overview

Questions?

External Resources

Contact Us

Jennifer Fitch — Commissioner

(802) 828-3519

Jennifer.Fitch@vermont.gov

Brian Sewell — State Energy Program Manager

(802) 622-4291

Brian.Sewell@vermont.gov

Tyler DeShong — MERP Coordinator

(802) 272-6516

Tyler.DeShong@vermont.gov

Chris Cobb — MERP Project Manager

(802) 798-4458

chris.cobb@vermont.gov

Megan Fuller — MERP Grant Administrator

(802) 798-4612

Megan.Fuller@vermont.gov

Municipal Energy Resilience Program

Our Municipal Expansion of the State Energy Management Program

We are excited to extend the energy savings and resilience concept of the State Energy Management Program to Vermont municipalities. The Municipal Energy Resilience Program (MERP) provides staff support, application and technical assistance, and funding to increase energy resilience, reduce energy use and operating costs, and curb greenhouse gas emissions by promoting weatherization, thermal improvements, fuel switching, renewable energy, battery storage, electric vehicle charging, and enhanced comfort in municipal buildings. 

Efficiency Vermont's 2019 Energy Burden ReportAct 172 (2022) gave MERP $45 million to support dependable and sustainable connections to critical municipal services for all Vermonters. Municipally owned buildings in cities, towns, incorporated villages, fire districts, and all other governmental incorporated units (except school districts) are eligible.

MERP targets communities in need of energy resilience investments, often having excessive energy burden (the portion of income spent on heating, electricity, and transportation). Visit Efficiency Vermont's webpage and view their 2019 report on Vermont's energy burden to learn more. Though MERP draws on the 2019 report, Efficiency Vermont released an updated report in August 2023 that is also worth checking out.

MERP provides the following funding opportunities:

  • Up to $4,000 Community Capacity Building Mini Grants
  • Free building Energy Resilience Assessments.
  • Up to $500,000 Implementation Grants for weatherization, thermal efficiency, and supplementing/replacing fossil fuel heating systems with more efficient renewable or electric versions (coming soon).

BGS is partering with Vermont's Regional Planning Commissions (RPCs), Vermont League of Cities and Towns, Efficiency Vermont, and Vermont Energy and Climate Action Network to develop and implement MERP. RPCs will also assist with grant and assessment applications and provide programming and technical assistance.

Find your RPC contact for MERP

Addison County Regional Planning Commission (ACRPC)

Maddison Shropshire – Energy Planner

Mshropshire@acrpc.org

Deron Rixon – Planner

drixon@acrpc.org

Lamoille County Planning Commission (LCPC)

Victoria Hellwig – Planner

victoria@lcpcvt.org

Alberto Della Torre – Assistant Planner

alberto@lcpcvt.org

Rutland Regional Planning Commission (RRPC)

Maggie O'Brien – Regional Planner

Maggie@rutlandrpc.org

Jeremy Gildrien – Utility Planner

Jeremy@rutlandrpc.org

Bennington County Regional Commission (BCRC)

Callie Fishburn – Regional Planner/Energy Program Coordinator

Cfishburn@bcrcvt.org

Mount Ascutney Regional Commission (MARC)

Martha Harrison – Planner

mharrison@marcvt.org

Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission (TRORC)

Harry Falconer – Planner

hfalconer@trorc.org

Central Vermont Planning Commission (CVRPC)

Sam Lash – Planner, Energy and Climate

lash@cvregion.com

Northeastern Vermont Development Association (NVDA)

Carter Finegan – MERP Coordinator

cfinegan@nvda.net

Allie Webster – Energy Planner

awebster@nvda.net

Alison Low – Senior Planner

alow@nvda.net

Windham Regional Commission (WRC)

Margo Ghia – Planner, Natural Resources

mghia@windhamregional.org

Mike McConnell – Senior Planner

mgm@windhamregional.org

Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission (CCRPC)

Ann Janda – Senior Energy Project Manager

ajanda@ccrpcvt.org

Northwest Regional Planning Commission (NRPC)

Marlena Valenta – Energy and Climate Planner

MValenta@nrpcvt.com

 

 

Past Events

September 19 2023: MERP Assessments Begin in Canaan!

Please check out our press release for progress on this phase of MERP.

April 18 2023: MERP Webinar with Vermont League of Cities and Towns

An overview of the program with updated information on grants and assessments.

March 20 2023: Lamoille County ARPA Resource Meeting

A discussion on State ARPA infrastructure resources (including MERP) available to all Vermont municipalities.

January 23 2023: Orange County ARPA Resource Meeting

A discussion on State ARPA infrastructure resources (including MERP) available to all Vermont municipalities.

December 13 2022: Vermont Energy and Climate Action Network Conference—Municipal Energy Resilience and Act 172

Visit the VECAN Conference 2022 webpage for more information.